Press Releases | Thiel College
🔍 menu
Thiel College
in this section

Nine Thiel College students nominated for Intercollegiate Broadcasting System awards in New York


Nine Thiel College students nominated for Intercollegiate Broadcasting System awards in New York

GREENVILLE, Pa.—Nine Thiel College media students have been nominated for Intercollegiate Broadcasting System awards that will be handed out during the 80th annual conference held at New York City’s Hotel Pennsylvania from March 6–8.

For the sixth consecutive year, Thiel College’s radio station, WXTC, has been nominated for Golden Mic Awards. WXTC was nominated in the underwriting and the newscast category and TCTV in the variety and on-air promotion categories.

Thiel’s IBS nominees are John Ganiear ’22 (newscast & underwriting); Keegan Bunch ’23, Timothy Jackson ’19, Jamir Mitchell ’22, Jacob Orczeck ’22, Quinn Ursprung ’19, Will Watkins ’22, and Shane Young ’19 (variety) and Adam Button ’22 (on-air promo).

High schools and colleges from across the country submit several thousand entries and recommendations to the IBS awards committee each year. The committee comprises media professionals from the TV, radio and sound recording industries. This year saw a 35-percent increase in the number of submissions and participation.

The yearly student media conference hosts more than 2,000 students from across the country and is held in conjunction with the national Golden Mic Awards ceremony. Many of Thiel’s nominees will attend the conference, which consists of breakout workshops, lectures, hands-on technology trials, practices, and other sessions that cover various media-oriented topics like public relations, promotions, script writing and more.

“This is a great networking and enhanced learning opportunity for our students, who are going into a highly competitive field,” said Peg Watts, Instructor of Communication, managing advisor and chief operator of WXTC Radio. “Students get to talk to other students from around the country and gain new perspectives and creative ideas. It’s a wonderful experience. The awards ceremony is fun—and, yes, being nominated really is an honor.”

WXTC-FM and TCTV are both housed in the $6.8 million James Pedas Communication Center, a collaborative learning community where students engage in film, TV, radio, news production and other multimedia-rich experiences that prepare them for today’s information society. The building’s features include sophisticated labs and studios, dynamic classrooms and learning spaces and the Office of Admission. The James Pedas Communication Center is Thiel College’s first Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design certified building.

Related Links

Related Stories

Office of Admission

About Thiel College

Thiel College is an independent college founded in the Lutheran tradition. Located in Greenville, Pa., the College offers 60 majors and minors, 24 varsity sports, and an 11:1 student-faculty ratio. The College is also home to a Master of Science in speech-language pathology, a Leadership Master of Business Administration and a Management Master of Business Administration. Both master’s degree programs offer innovative and accelerated five-year paths which allow students to earn a bachelor’s and master’s degree in five years. The speech-language pathology program also has an accelerated 15-month graduate-level program. The M.B.A. program also has a 12-month post-graduate program. A dedicated faculty paired with dynamic research and internship opportunities produce numerous graduate school and job placements. Coeducational from its beginnings, the College remains committed to combining tradition with innovation.

  • Newsroom

Media Contact

Dominick DiRienzo

Assistant Director of
Communications and Marketing
📱  724-589-2188

📁Browse by Category

Academics  (593)
Admission  (185)
Alumni  (239)
Athletics  (113)
College Advancement  (211)
Community  (358)
Events  (291)
Faculty & Staff  (492)
Performing Arts  (104)
Students  (621)

📁Browse by Year

2022  (8)
2021  (141)
2020  (146)
2019  (123)
2018  (157)
2017  (129)
2016  (119)
2015  (110)
2014  (52)
2013  (33)
2012  (41)